Dates for your Diary


All FHP events in the diary are printed in bold. The Friends’ Nature Walks (NW) are continuing to be led by varying regulars while we look for a new permanent leader with the requisite skills and commitment. We will have a one-and-a-half-hour stroll through the park looking at birds, plants, butterflies and park management of current interest. There is no charge, and all are welcome without booking. Meet outside the Stable Yard at 9am on the first Saturday of each month. No dogs, please, as even well behaved ones on leads disturb the wildlife. We recommend you bring binoculars if you can.

The Ecology team have, yet again, planned an exciting programme of talks, walks and events for the year ahead, all aimed at encouraging children and adults to explore and understand the natural world we are lucky enough to have around us in Holland Park. In order that the events can be free for participants, the Friends will continue to sponsor the walks and talks that are led by independent experts in their field and ensure their costs are covered.

Events organised by the Ecology Service of RBKC are listed as ‘ES’; where FHP have sponsored them, this is indicated. Unless otherwise stated the meeting place is in the Ecology Centre near the Adventure Playground. Some must be booked, in which case please call 020 7938 8186 or e-mail ecology.centre@rbkc.gov.uk. There is a charge for those marked £.

Holland Park Conservation Volunteer days (for adults) are every third Saturday of the month from 10.30am to 3pm; meet outside the Stable Yard. No specialist skills are required, and this is your chance to make new friends while getting healthy outdoor exercise: digging, chopping and planting in the wilder parts of the park. Refreshments, gloves, tools and instructions provided. Wear sturdy shoes and old clothes, and bring waterproofs and your lunch. For further information from the Ecology Team visit www.rbkc.gov.uk/ecology, call 020 7938 8186 or e-mail ecology.centre@rbkc.gov.uk.

Sat 10 Mar    Moss Walk. Dr Alan Harrington. Meet in stable yard. 11am-1pm. Must book
Thurs 15 Mar    ES. Earthworm ecology talk (sponsored).  Must book. 6-7.30pm
Sat 24 Mar    ES. Beginner’s guide to birdwatching (sponsored). Must book. 9-11.30am
Fri 30 Mar- Fri 13 Apr   ES. Children’s spring holiday activities. Must book. £
Sat 7 Apr    NW
Thurs 12 Apr    ES. Seeds of Spring: Ecology Centre Afternoon. Drop in. 12 noon-4pm
Sat 14-Sun 22 April   Annual Art Exhibition, in the Orangery
Wed 18 Apr    Annual General Meeting, in the Orangery, 7.30pm
Fri 20 Apr    Heavenly Duets concert, in the Orangery, £18, 7.30pm
Sat 28 Apr    ES. Dawn chorus bird walk (sponsored). Car park. Must book, 5-7am
Sat 28 Apr    ES. Family bird song walk (sponsored). Car park. Must book, 8-10am
Sat 5 May    NW
Thurs 10 May  ES. Spring bat walk (sponsored). Bring a torch. Must book, 8.30-10pm
Thurs 24 May    ES. Stag beetle talk (sponsored). Must book, 6.30-8pm
Sat 26 May*    Summer tree walk. Dr Alan Harrington. Meet in stable yard, 11am-1pm
*(changed from 19 May, due to royal wedding)
Sat 26 May    ES. Spring Trees: Wildlife Area Open Day. Drop in, 12 noon-4pm
Mon 28 May- Fri 1 June   ES. Half-term children’s holiday activities. Must book. £
Thurs 31 May    ES. Birds of Holland Park: Ecology Centre Open Afternoon     12 noon-4pm
Sat 2 June    NW
Sat 23 June    ES. Butterfly and moth walk (sponsored). Must book, 10-11.30am
Thurs 28 June    ES. Fox talk (sponsored). Must book, 6.30-8pm
Thurs 5 July    ES. Summer tree walk: the basics. Must book, 6.30-8pm
Sat 7 July    NW
Sat 14 July    ES. Pond surveying: Wildlife Area Open Day, 12 noon-4pm
Thurs 19 July    ES. Wild plants of Holland Park walk (sponsored). Must book, 6.30-8pm
Tues 24 July    Pimm’s in the Park, marquee at east end of Dutch Garden, £18, 6-8pm

[Spring 2018]