Dates for your Diary

All FHP events in the diary are printed in bold. The Friends’ Nature Walks (NW, formerly BNW) are continuing to be led by varying regulars while we look for a new permanent leader with the requisite skills and commitment. We will have a one-and-a-half-hour stroll through the park looking at birds, plants, butterflies and park management of current interest. There is no charge and all are welcome without booking. Meet outside the café at 9am on the first Saturday of each month. No dogs, please, as even well behaved ones on leads disturb the wildlife. We recommend you bring binoculars if you can.

Events organised by the Ecology Service of RBK&C are listed as ‘ES’, some of which are sponsored by FHP where indicated. Unless otherwise stated the meeting place is in the Ecology Centre near the Adventure Playground. Some must be booked, in which case please call 020 7938 8186 or e-mail ecology.centre@rbkc.gov.uk. There is a charge for those marked £.

Holland Park Conservation Volunteer days (for adults) are every third Saturday of the month from 10.30am to 3pm (except in April when it is the second Saturday); meet outside the café. No specialist skills are required, and this is your chance to make new friends while getting healthy outdoor exercise: digging, chopping and planting in the wilder parts of the park. Refreshments, gloves, tools and instructions provided. Wear sturdy shoes, old clothes, waterproofs, and bring your lunch. Further information from the Ecology Team call 020 7938 8186 or e-mail ecology.centre@rbkc.gov.uk.

Sat 4 Mar    NW

Sat 4 Mar    Moss walk.  Dr Alan Harrington. Must book. Meet in stable yard 11am-1pm

Sat 4 Mar    Moss walk.  Dr Alan Harrington. Must book. Meet in stable yard  2-4pm

Sat 18 Mar    ES. Seeds of Spring: Ecology Centre Open Day. Drop in 12 noon-4pm

Fri 24 Mar    ES. Children’s Night Safari (5-8 years). Must book. £.  5-7pm

Fri 31 Mar    ES. Children’s Night Safari (8-12 years). Must book. £.  7-9pm

Sat 1 Apr    NW

Sat 1 – Sun 9 April  Annual Art Exhibition, in the Orangery

Mon 3 – Thurs 13 April   ES. Children’s spring holiday activities. Must book. £

Wed 5 Apr    Annual General Meeting, in the Orangery. 7.30pm

Thurs 6 April    Russian Virtuosi of Europe concert, in the Orangery, £15. 7.30pm

Thurs 20 Apr    ES. Amphibian walk. Must book. 7-9pm

Sat 29 Apr    ES. Dawn chorus bird walk (sponsored). Car park. Must book. 5-7am

Sat 29 Apr    ES. Family bird song walk (sponsored). Car park. Must book. 8-10am

Sat 6 May    NW

Thurs 11 May  ES. Spring bat walk (sponsored). Bring a torch. Must book. 8.30-10pm

Sat 13 May    ES. Walk in the woods: Wildlife Area Open Day. Drop in. 12 noon-4pm

Thurs 18 May  ES. Wildlife gardening walk (sponsored). Must book. 6.30-8pm

Sat 20 May    Summer tree walk. Dr Alan Harrington. Meet in stable yard. 11am-1pm

Tues 30 May –  Fri 2 June  ES. Half-term children’s holiday activities. Must book. £

Sat 3 June    NW

Sat 3 June    ES. Pond of delights: Wildlife Area Open Day. Drop in. 12 noon-4pm

Thurs 8 June    ES. Pond dipping for adults. Must book. 6.30-8pm

Sat 24 June    ES. Wild plants of Holland Park walk (sponsored). Must book. 2-4pm

Sat 1 July    NW

Thurs 6 July    ES. Parakeet walk and talk (sponsored). Must book. 7-8.30pm

Tues 11 July    Pimm’s in the Park, marquee at east end of Dutch Garden, £17. 6-8pm

Thurs 13 July    ES. Summer tree walk: the basics. Must book. 6.30-8pm

Thurs 20 July  ES. Bumblebee talk (sponsored). Must book. 6.30-8pm

Sat 22 July    ES. Brilliant butterflies: Ecology Centre Open Day. Drop in. 12 noon-4pm

Mon 24 July – Fri 1 Sept    ES. Children’s summer holiday activities. Must book. £