Dates for your Diary

All FHP events in the diary are printed in bold. The Friends’ Nature Walks (NW, formerly BNW) are continuing to be led by varying regulars while we look for a new permanent leader with the requisite skills and commitment. We will have a one-and-a-half-hour stroll through the park looking at birds, plants, butterflies and park management of current interest. There is no charge and all are welcome without booking. Meet outside the café at 9am on the first Saturday of each month. No dogs, please, as even well behaved ones on leads disturb the wildlife. We recommend you bring binoculars if you can.

Events organised by the Ecology Service of RBK&C are listed as ‘ES’, some of which are sponsored by FHP where indicated. Unless otherwise stated the meeting place is in the Ecology Centre near the Adventure Playground. Some must be booked, in which case please call 020 7938 8186 or e-mail ecology.centre@rbkc.gov.uk. There is a charge for those marked £.

Holland Park Conservation Volunteer days (for adults) are every third Saturday of the month from 10.30am to 3pm; meet at the Holland Park café. No specialist skills are required, and this is your chance to make new friends while getting healthy outdoor exercise: digging, chopping and planting in the wilder parts of the park. Refreshments, gloves, tools and instructions provided. Wear sturdy shoes and old clothes, and bring waterproofs and your lunch. For further information from the Ecology Team visit www.rbkc.gov.uk/ecology, call 020 7938 8186 or e-mail ecology.centre@rbkc.gov.uk.

Sat 1 July    NW with John Wells

Thurs 6 July    ES. Parakeet walk and talk (sponsored). Must book. 7-8.30pm

Tues 11 July    Pimm’s in the Park, marquee at east end of Dutch Garden, £17, 6-8pm

Thurs 13 July    ES. Summer tree walk: the basics. Must book. 6.30-8pm

Thurs 20 July  ES. Bumblebee talk (sponsored). Must book. 6.30-8pm

Sat 22 July    ES. Brilliant butterflies: Ecology Centre Open Day. Drop in. 12 noon-4pm

Mon 24 July –  Fri 1 Sept  ES. Children’s summer holiday activities. Must book. £

Sat 5 Aug    NW

Sat 12 Aug    ES. Dazzling dragonflies. Open Day. Drop in at Wildlife Area 12 noon-4pm

Sat 2 Sept    NW

Sat 9 Sept    ES. Small mammal trapping and surveying. Must book. 10-11.30am

Thurs 14 Sept    Autumn bat walk (sponsored). Must book. 7-8.30pm

Sat 23 Sept    Autumn seeds. Open Day. Drop in at Wildlife Area. 12 noon-4pm

Sat 7 Oct    NW

Weds 18 Oct    ‘Jacobean Country Houses in the London Countryside’, in the Orangery, £18, 7pm

Sat 21 Oct    Autumn tree walk. Dr Alan Harrington. Meet in Stable Yard. 11am-1pm

Mon 23 – Fri 27 Oct,  ES. Children’s half-term holiday activities. Must book. £

Fri 3 Nov    ES. Children’s Night Safari (5-8 year-olds). Must book. £. 4-6pm

Sat 4 Nov    NW

Fri 10 Nov    ES. Children’s Night Safari (8-12 year-olds). Must book. £. 4-6pm

Sat 11 Nov    ES. Fungi Foray (sponsored). Must book. 2-4pm

Thurs 16 Nov    ES. A Year in Holland Park: talk. Must book. 6-7.30pm